Hair Update: Learning!

I’ve been scouring the web looking at Natural Hair blogs, videos, websites, etc. trying to get informed about what’s the best way to “transition”. So far my routine has been to continue washing my hair once a week or biweekly and sticking to blowing it out and flat ironing it. It is SUPER short in the back right now from my bob, so I’m not loving how it looks curly (awkward), so straight it is.
I’ve read a lot of opinions on whether or not heat should applied at all to natural hair, because apparently it ruins the curl, but from what I know from my curl pattern… It’s pretty damn strong. I was always able to wear my hair curly after a relaxer, so I have no fear that the heat will damage the curl pattern, but I am concerned about continued breakage.

This month I’m going to try “cowashing” when/if I do choose to go curly for a bit and increase my moisturizing routine in order to prevent heat breakage.Currently, I’m testing out Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque. I can’t say I love it…yet. I’ve only used it once and I’m pretty sure I didn’t leave it in long enough, so I’ll be playing with it some more.

Here’s my hair today, soaking in the masque. This is my curl pattern even after relaxer hair, hence my lack of worry when continuing to use heat.



Image
That’s where I’m at this week! Happily transitioning and learning!
– Jess

Leave a Reply

